Arizona Wildcats (Men’s basketball team)


Arizona Wildcats is the team of men’s basketball team for NCAA (National Collegiate Athletic Association). The wildcats are representing University of Arizona which is placed in Tucson. Recently, they have joined Big 12 Conference which will come in effect on 2nd August 2024. This team is led by Dave Heeke. There is total 20 teams from which 8 of them of men’s while rest women’s. Arizona joined Pac-8 in 1970s. They have been the favorite team for all the spectators and NCAA basketball picks. This is all about them lets discuss their history. 


The name for wildcats had been resulting from a football game in 1914 while they were playing with California champions. They had number of rivels in the past; Arizona state university Sun Devils. Both had rivalries and been familiar a one of the unpleasant. There had been a mascot as well named as Wilbur and Wilma. First, they had been a secret through the years and only appears in costume. In the past, there was a real dust bobcat as Rufus which was introduced in 1915.  


Men’s basketball 

This is one of the most successful programs after the Lute Olsin who was hired as coach. They had in total 20 back-to-back win in National powerhouse in Division from 1988 to 2007. In year 1988,94,97 and 01 they reached the final four in NCAA. They had been covered in several college basketball picks and maintained consistent name. They have defeated University of Kentucky in 1997 with great margin. After that they had a coach as an NBA player Mike Bibby & Michael Dickerson and other former players who were in Final four MVP’s. Today they have been trained by Tommy Lloyd in consecutive of 3 seasons. They only had won NCAA championship in 1997 while runner ups in 2001. Today 2023 they have been standing at 2st position with overall of 28-7. 

 Notable players 

In their 116-year history, the Wildcats have had 18 coaches. Lute Olson was awarded Pac-12 Conference Coach-of-the-Year in 1986, 1988, 1989, 1993, 1994, 1998, and 2003, Sean Miller in 2011, 2014, and 2017, and Tommy Lloyd in 2022. 

Kadeem Allen − Forlì (Italy) Brandon Ashley − Altiri Chiba (Japan) Parker Jackson-Cartwright − New Zealand Breakers (Australia) Kyle Fogg – Liaoning Flying Leopards (China) Rondae Hollis-Jefferson – TNT Tropang Giga (Philippines) Grant Jerrett – Utsunomiya Brex (Japan) Chase Jeter – BK NH Ostrava (Czechoslovakia) Nick Johnson (born 1992) – Hapoel Holon B.C. (Israel) Ryan Luther – Manisa BB (Turkey) Nico Mannion – Saski Baskonia (Spain) Kyrylo Natyazhko – BC Dnipro (Ukraine) Keanu Pinder – Perth Wildcats (Australia). There are other players who are at great levels.   

In conclusion, this team had a great future and emerging as a greatest team for NCAA basketball. If Arizona is winning by a comfortable margin late in the game, the band and students will yell “Go start the bus!” again. If an opponent makes a huge play, they will yell, “It just doesn’t matter!” 

Comments are closed.